Barren Trees Watercolor

barrentreescaled

As simple as this painting is, it took me several attempts to get it to look like this – kinda rustic and not overworked. It’s very hard to put the brush down when you just want to go go go! Also used a limited palette which is hard for me because I like to use lots of colors. I know I’m not alone in this.

I need to improve my branchesΒ  – they are horrible. I’ve got a rigger for fine lining but I’m wondering if a rigger is different than an actual liner brush? Can someone help me? I need control for the mid-level/thick branches and the rigger is just too floppy.

Click HERE to see my other stuff.

 

10 thoughts on “Barren Trees Watercolor

  1. Here’s what works for me. I use a rigger and hold the paintbrush at the very tip end to get the smallest of branches. Hold down a little further on the handle and use a little more pressure to get thicker branches. Took a little practice though but I finally got it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! I never thought of that. I will definitely try that. I never thought about where on the brush that I was holding it. I’m going to be painting trees and branches until I get it right and now I’ve got something new to try. Thank you so much Carol for your advice. I will definitely use it! If you have any other advice for me, I’m all ears. πŸ™‚ Thank you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to ask again for thicker branches but here is what my mum said: If they are not too thick branches you need a rigger brush you can get different sizes,and they are good for the finer branches at the top of tree also. Start at the bottom and let the brush just fade out at the top.

    Like

    • Thank you Catherine. I’ve only got one size rigger brush. I’ve seen the different sizes online and they all look the same to me but maybe it’s because its online and not in person. I made a HUGE purchase at Ultrecht – lots of paints & some brushes. Maybe I’ll get some more riggers πŸ™‚ Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not very experienced, but for thin lines like tree branches so far I’ve liked my very short thin round, but also my really fat round (I think it’s a twenty, maybe? Or a little smaller?) It has a nice pointed tip that is actually easier to control than I had imagined it would be! This looks nice. πŸ™‚ I really like the movement the ground makes down in the front.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t had much luck with thin lines using a round. haha πŸ™‚ I just ordered some sword brushes so I’m looking forward to using them. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by Holly. πŸ™‚

      Like

What Say You?

