Tree Practice – Watercolor

treepracticeLately I’ve been trying to improve my trees – the branches mainly and in my previous post, I sought some advice. As you can see from the picture above, there is an improvement in the branches compared to the previous post. So here are my acknowledgements…

Snaps to Carol from Carol’s Creative Papers – She gave advice on where to hold the brush – at the tip to get small branches and further down to get thicker ones. I held my brush down lower so that I had more control and hopefully you can see that my branches are not as choppy and blend together better. I used two different sized round brushes which aren’t marked with a number and a #6 rigger. Thanks again Carol. Also….

Snaps to Catherine Johnson for schooling me on the fact that riggers come in different sizes. I had never looked at the size before tonight and now I know I need to get smaller ones. After really looking at my #6 rigger, I realized that it’s just too thick making it harder to get that detail. Thanks again Catherine!

Since posting this, I have finished the painting which I’ll save for another post.

As always, comments/critiques are welcome. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Tree Practice – Watercolor

  1. Hi Carol: You are a quick study and I am glad it is working out for you. Sometimes it is more difficult to explain with words rather than with sight, but it looks like you are getting the hang of it. Kudos to you for persevering!

    Like

What Say You?

